iPhones and iPads are incredibly personal devices, but there may be times you want to let someone else use a specific app without giving them free rein over your private data. Whether it’s letting a child play a game, allowing a volunteer to check in event attendees, or handing your device to a nosy friend, Apple’s Guided Access feature is the perfect solution.
What is Guided Access?
Guided Access temporarily restricts your device to a single app and limits what actions can be performed, ensuring privacy and focus.
How to Set It Up
Open Settings > Accessibility > Guided Access, and toggle it on
Set passcode you won't forget and that the person using it doesn't know
Choose whether to enable auto-lock during sessions. You may want to set this to "never" if it's meant to be a kiosk.
Using Guided Access
Open the app you want to share
Triple-click the side or top button to activate Guided Access
Use your finger to draw a circle on any areas of the screen that should be disabled, such as a back button
Adjust options, if needed
Side Button: If toggled on, allows them to turn the screen off by pressing the side button
Volume Buttons: If toggled on, allows them to change the volume with the buttons on the side
Motion: If toggled on, allows them to rotate the screen; if toggled off rotation is locked
Software Keyboards: If toggled on, allows them to type on the screen
Touch: Toggle on to allow them to tap things on the screen
Time Limit: If toggled on, set a time limit after which your device locks
Ending a Session
Triple-click the side or top button again
Enter the Guided Access passcode
Tap End
Guided Access is a simple yet powerful tool for sharing your iPhone or iPad while safeguarding your personal information and ensuring the other person stays focused on the task or app at hand.



